The Arjay Conception

my thoughts keep coming

unPolitically Correctedness

Posted by RJ on December 7, 2008

I was in some political training last month when, to my surprise, I was introduced to the term “communities of color.” I remember thinking, “Wow, that’s different…colorful…unique.”

Then, in my online communities, I began to pay attention and I noticed they were talking about POCspeople of color…and WOCswomen of color. And I thought, “Damn, that’s…special.”

And then I thought a little harder, and I was like, “Wait a minute–I’m a member of a Women of Color group! What the hell is that supposed to mean?”

Come to find out, they’re talking about my Black ass.

Can people please notify me when y’all change the politically correct terminology?! Here I was thinking I was still Black.

About a decade ago, I was Afro-American. Very shortly afterward, I was an African-American.  Or was it vice versa? Before that, I heard I was a Negro. But before that, I’s was a Nigra and a Colored Gal.

Against our better judgement, my homegirls and I still use the term Nigga. I really don’t want to, but I can’t stop.  But the only thing that has remained constant even amidst scrutiny, is that we are Niggers [behind our backs].

Hell, I thought people of color might have been gays. No wonder I’m still unemployed. All this time, I’ve been writing in my cover letter that I worked with “minorities.”

So, the next time y’all want to change shit, let a bitch know so I can get with the program (and fill out the Census and get scholarships)!

One Response to “unPolitically Correctedness”

  1. tothewire said

    love it Rj!!!!!!

Leave a comment